SERVICES - Oregon Measure 11
MEASURE 11 SENTENCING REQUIREMENTS - OREGON
Measure 11 changed sentencing standards for 21 criminal offenses. Prior to 1994, sentencing guidelines in Oregon left a lot of discretion to judges who could adapt a criminal sentence according to the circumstances. Various factors could be taken into consideration for the possibilities of parole, reduced sentence, and early release. Judges no longer have the ability to adjust sentencing due to the mandatory minimum requirements that Measure 11 instituted. Measure 11 penalties are the same for all offenders and they are much longer. Juveniles aged 15 years or older are also subject to the measure. There are a few very narrow Measure 11 exceptions (see below).
Measure 11 has three aims:
Mandatory Minimum Sentences Under Oregon's Ballot Measure 11
Important Points to Consider
Sentencing Time Frames
Exceptions to Measure 11 (ORS 137.712 Exceptions to ORS 137.700 and 137.707
Special Note: Measure 73 Repeat Offenses
Measure 73 was approved in November of 2010. Measure 73 compounds Measure 11 in some circumstances, substantially increases Measure 11 sentencing requirements, and draws juvenile offenders into adult court. The initiative sets a 25-year mandatory minimum prison sentence for:
1ORS 137.712 (6)(B)(c)(A-D) Significant physical injury means a physically injury that:
2ORS 137.712 (6)(B)(a)(A-B) Conviction includes but is not limited to:
ORS 173.712 (6)(B)(b) Prior conviction means a conviction that was entered prior to a sentence of the current crime. Does not include a class C felony conviction that is 10 or more years old or a misdemeanor.
ATTENTION: The presentation of information on this website is not intended to -- and does not -- constitute legal advice. Additionally, no attorney-client relationship is formed by accessing, viewing, or submitting information via this website.